• Advertisement
Major League Fishing

Breaking Out of My Swimbait Comfort Zone

Forum Sponsored by: MAJOR LEAGUE FISHING

Share your tips, technigues, tactics, presentations and strategies. Discuss considerations for selecting lures, areas to fish, when to fish and other important considerations to increase your success. Discuss your favorite gear for each technique and share recommendations and product reviews.

Moderators: oubassman, BigYaker, w2n, PA hillbilly, Wayners, kayakfish, PA-Smallies, SnookOne, Jeff Little

Breaking Out of My Swimbait Comfort Zone

Postby CrX970 » Thu May 10, 2012 9:45 pm

One of my fishing resolutions for the new year was to get more comfortable with swimbaits. I've been tossing big money minnows and Spro BBZ-1s for a few months now for striper and smallmouth. With my comfort level rising I figured it was time to step it up another level. I placed a sizeable order last night for some Huddlestons. I only ordered the six inch for now mainly because I don't have a rod that can handle the 8". I got a couple in each available fall rate in the Juvenile Trout and Silver/Green (which looks like Tennessee shad to me and is one of my favorite crank/jerkbait colors) and some new bait glue.

I'm pretty excited to start slinging these hefty swimbaits and as soon as I decide to buy a new rod/reel I'll probably order the 8" along with some Bullshads.

With all the stocker trout in the rivers and lakes I really feel like these should be an amazing bait especially in one of the super clear lakes up here.

Does anyone have any good tips or info that might help? Any thoughts on these baits would be appreciated.

Link http://www.tacklewarehouse.com/Huddlest ... -HD6T.html
CrX970
KBF 1000 Club

Re: Breaking Out of My Swimbait Comfort Zone

Postby Drewgill » Thu May 10, 2012 10:17 pm

I'm sure some the gurus will chime in shortly.