One of the most prestigious titles in any sport is that of the MVP or Individual Titles that recognize the best and most consistent competitor in that sport. For fishing, that position is that of the Angler of the Year. So, KBF established the Angler of the Year program in 2016 and awarded our first ever title to Jay Wallen of Lexington, Kentucky. In 2017, we ended the season with a tie for first place and the necessity to have a tie breaking fish off for Angler of the Year at The TEN on Bienville Plantation in White Springs, Florida. The Angler of the Year title recognizes the most consistent angler in the competitive series and therefore it isn’t ideal to have a tie breaking fish-off to determine the winner of this title.

Taking this into account, KBF has adjusted the format for 2018. To accomplish this, KBF consulted with the Membership, tournament directors and members of the KBF Advisory Group to modify the program to recognize the best possible mix of consistent performance. The percentages for each series considered numerous variables including an attempt to level the playing field as much as possible geographically, give credit to winning or placing high in events with more competitors and more heavily weighting anglers that fished consistently in the KBF TRAIL Series in varying conditions, throughout the season and in different fisheries.

We are pleased to announce the 2018 KBF Angler of the Year Program and look forward to crowing the 2017 KBF Angler of the Year at Bienville Plantation after they settle it at The TEN.


Chad – KBF Founder and President

2018 KBF AOY Pie Chart