The 2023 edition of Dee Zee KBF The TEN will take place in Polk County, Florida in early February. Ten elite kayak anglers qualified for the event earned their spots as the top ten finishers in the 2022 Farwide Angler of the Year standings. They will be provided with accommodations at Mack Lodge, A Guy Harvey Lodge, as one of the many perks for qualifying for Dee Zee KBF The TEN.

The anglers have also earned guaranteed payouts for every spot, and the angler who lands the ten longest approved fish wins ten thousand dollars.

The TEN roster for 2023 again includes some of the top names in kayak fishing, plus a wild card:

Here is what KBF competitors are looking ahead to the event in Polk County, Florida:

Old Town pro angler Casey Reed (VA) told KBF:

“After experiencing the TEN in 2020 and just missing out two years in a row by fractions of an inch, I am very grateful to be going to battle it out with the top angler sin our sport for that $10,000 check and the title of KBF The TEN champion.”

Reed’s Old Town teammate Ryan Nye will also attend it, as a first time qualifier:

“Being from Connecticut, the kayak gets put away in the late fall until my trip down south. Not having much experience fishing in Florida, I know how different and difficult it can be from what I am used to, so the research can go a long way.

I use outlets such as Google Earth, Youtube and the state website to get as much information as possible….I try not to get caught up in the history of these lakes and go in with a fresh mind. I have only fished in Florida one other time back in 2020 for the Trail Series event and though it didn’t go as I had hoped, I learned a lot and look forward to seeing if I can take some of what I learned and build off of it for the TEN.”

Utah pro Chris Spencer summarized his feelings as follows:

“Can’t wait to get to Florida for the TEN. I’m nervous and excited. Looking forward to the experiences and challenges the Kissimmee Chain has to offer and for a chance at [catching] an absolute monster.”

A History of KBF The TEN

The history of Dee Zee KBF The TEN is a who’s who of kayak fishing. To qualify for it shows you are one of the best, to repeatedly qualify demonstrates outstanding consistency, and to win the event engraves your name on an exclusive monument. Simply put, there is no single event that is more exclusive or prestigious in the entirety of kayak fishing.

Every year, a new champion is enshrined. From first to most recent, they are as follows:

In 2017, Ron Champion tied Cory Dreyer for first place (Dreyer won the tie breaker), followed by Jamie Denison, Jason Broach and AJ McWhorter.

In 2018, Jamie Denison won THE TEN and Cory Dreyer was runner up. The top 5 was rounded out by Jody Queen, Brian Aliff and Ron Champion. And Cory Dreyer won the tiebreaker rematch with Ron Champion.

In 2019, Cody Milton won the title, followed by Eric Siddiqi, Jay Wallen, Matt Ball and Josh Stewart.

In 2020, THE TEN trophy was won by Rus Snyders, followed by Ken Wood, Derek Brundle, Cody Milton and Brad Case.

In 2021, Jody Queen won THE TEN, followed by Alex Miller, Jeremy Mitchell, Cory Dreyer and Adam Petrone.

In 2022, Cody Henley prevailed.

There is still time to plan, travel and compete for that last spot awarded to the TENvitational champ! See below for more info.

About the Anglers

Jake Angulas is sponsored by NuCanoe, Enduro Power, and Dobyns Rods.

Derek Brundle is sponsored by  NuCanoe  MotorGuide Amped Outdoors LLC   X Zone Lures  Yakrods  RAZE Eyewear  Crosskix  Da Bomb Anchor Company  Rogue Fishing Co.  YakGadget  Accent Fishing Products  Power-Pole Total Boat Control   Thrasher Sports Apparel

Gene Jensen is sponsored by 13 Fishing, JJ’s Magic, Motorguide, Bona Fide Kayaks, Yak Attack, Alumacraft, Seaguar, Realtree Fishing, Plano, Gamakatsu, Spro and Dakota Lithium Batteries.

Cody Milton is sponsored by FishUSAKetch Outdoors, Dakota Lithium, Cashion Fishing Rods, NuCanoe and MotorguideCo.

Ryan Nye is sponsored by Old Town, Black Hall Outfitters, Enduro Power Lithium Batteries, Stretching Lines and Northbound Gear

Casey Reed is sponsored by Old Town, Ketch Outdoors, AFTCO, Humminbird, Yak Attack, Dakota Lithium, Cashion Fishing Rods, FishUSA, Minn-Kota, Sniper Marine and Leopold.

Josh Stewart is on the Jackson Kayak Fishing team.

Rus Snyders is sponsored by: Wilderness Systems , Ketch Outdoors, Torqeedo, Yak Attack, irod,  and Dakota Lithium Batteries.

Anthony Winkleman is sponsored by Oldtown Canoes and Kayaks, Dakota Lithium Batteries
and Dobyns Rods.

Additional Info

Follow DEE ZEE KBF THE TEN live on the LEDLENSER LEADERBOARD in Fishing Chaos

Follow/Search DEE ZEE KBF THE TEN  posts on Social Media!

Twitter: @kayakbassfish

Facebook: @KayakBassFishing

Instagram: @kayakbassfishing

First Published  January 4, 2023

[An earlier version of this article mistakenly noted that Chris Spencer was from California]

© 2023 Kayak Bass Fishing. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.